Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoked Turkey

Options
LOCOCOOKr
LOCOCOOKr Posts: 3
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I will start this out by saying I am new to the BGE art and this is my first post on this forum...I have friends that have eggs and I wont receive mine for a couple of days.I am an avid griller and pride myself in making my own rubs and sauces. With that being said, I have been volunteered by my Boss for Smoking a Turkey for this years Company Thanksgiving Lunch. I cook 20+ slabs of ribs, Chicken, etc 2 times a year for our clients, so I said why not. I am looking for a very nice recipe suggestion for a beginner with a BGE. I have looked at a recipe with a brine and cooked using a butter compound that looks appetizing, but am looking for further suggestions. I like to take recipes and add a special touch to make it different.I have bought a rack and will be using a plate setter, and planning on using a 20lb bird. I dont really want a heavy smoked bird, due to other peoples preferences. To finish it off, my plan was to coat with mayonaise and add a nice coating of my favorite herb, type rub. Slight issue I have is I will be smoking it all night, will get to the office around 8, but wont eat till around noon. I dont want it to dry out!!! I know this is long, I just wanted to explain that I have good cooking experience and highly take pride to produce perfection for all to enjoy. PS-I am planning on using Mesquite wood chunks for smoking. Thanks in advance for your help and suggestions. B)

Comments

• SmokeyPitt
    SmokeyPitt Posts: 10,490
    Options