Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

1st egg use - chemical flavor -help!

grillthriller
grillthriller Posts: 7
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Newbie here, I used some Wicked Good lump charcoal and (2) really old camping wood starter sticks to start my 1st egg use tonight. My 1 1/2 inch thick New York Strips were cooked to perfection, thankfully but the overall flavor was chemical-like, ESPECIALLY on the charred parts of the steaks.

I have always used a gas grill before and never experienced this kind of flavor. Was it the brand new egg? New grate? The camping starter sticks (about 1/2 inch by 4 inches-no smell that I detect)? The charcoal itself (the charcoal doesn't have this smell)? Thanks for any advice!

Comments

• BBQMaven
    BBQMaven Posts: 1,041
    Grillthriller,

How long did you let the lump burn before you put the meat on? What did the smoke coming out the top smell like?
    I would think you needed to burn the lump 30-40 minutes to get the "bad" smoke smell to go away....
    Kent Madison MS
  • Bingo, Kent. I only let the coals smolder about 15 minutes. My daughter commented about how blue the smoke looked coming out the top (!!!) as I was grilling the steaks. D-oh! I'll wait longer to put on the meat next time. In fact, I'm going to cook a whole chicken next and will wait 30-40 minutes to let coals smolder. Thank you!

Sean -Grillthriller
    Eden Prairie, MN
  • BBQMaven