Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pulled Pork - Help Please

Options
Garyinchicago
Garyinchicago Posts: 22
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hello. I have an XL BGE and want to do a pulled pork. While I am not a complete newbie, I have not done a long cook like this before. I have so many question related to set up and getting the temp right along with how to have proper smoke. Could someone please help answer the following with as much detail as possible?

1. How to start it properly? I have heard that the right way is to load it with lump and get it going with the top off and bottom vent completely open. Then close the lid and let it get up to 500 or 600 degrees.

2. when do I add the place setter, wood chunks and chips and food? After getting the temp up to 500 do i first shut the vents and get it down to 230 for my low and slow cook and then add all of these items?

3. How much wood chunk or chips to add for a long cook like pork shoulder? Do you soak them? Will what I add initially last for the entire cook? Do you have to add more along the way? How much smoke should I smell or see if I am only cooking at 230?