Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

DigiQ and Thermapen - Do I Need Both?

Options
tsheehan7
tsheehan7 Posts: 105
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm new to egging (getting my large demo egg on Oct. 16 at eggfest in Atlanta) and I'm already starting to fill my Christmas list with egg-related items.

My question is, if I spend the $200 on a temp controller from BBQ Guru, will that suffice for a good thermometer as well? Or does it make sense to own both?

I'm sure many of you started with a a Thermapen and then took the plunge to a DigiQ, but if you didn't own either, would you still buy both?

Comments

• vidalia1
    vidalia1 Posts: 7,092
    Options
    These items are nice to haves...not necessarily needed. They serve 2 different purposes...the thermapen gives you quick reads on internal temps of your food. The digi q gives you the ability to cook foods over longer periods of time while maintaing a constant temp. and yes they are both nice items to have on your Christmas wish list.
  • BigBadger
    Options
    There's always a need for each and every AWESOME tool that one can afford to buy... Can't tell you how many duplicates of wrenches, calculators, spatulas, computers, etc. I have..And I use them all for different applications. Will you ever use the Digi-Q for a burger? Not likely, but the Thermapen is a great quick alternative. Just wouldn't want to leave the Thermapen in a Roast for several low slow hours.
  • tsheehan7
    Options
    BigBadger wrote: