Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Practice Turkey

Options
FatDog
FatDog Posts: 164
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Greetings, All ...[p]I had purchased a couple of turkeys late last year at Sam's for a ridiculously low price (like $3 and change for a 21 pounder). Since I am still relatively new at the whole egg thing (a year this month) I decided to use one of my frozen birds for a practice cook for Thanksgiving. I loaded the gobbler with halved apples, quartered onions, and a few sprigs of fresh rosemary. Popped Tom into the egg at 325 degrees over some apple chunks and cooked until the breast read 180 degrees. I think I should have read the legs instead as they are a bit overdone - but - overall, it is a wonderful bird. I'll be eating some great turkey sandwiches for lunch this week. What joy there will be torturing my students and fellow teachers with good food!!![p]Doc

Comments

• Steve-B
    Steve-B Posts: 339
    Options
    FatDog,
    I did that also after Easter this year. I got 2 full turkeys and 2 full breasts. I am down to one turkey now. I wouldn't take the internal in the breast to 180°, but rather 170°. The dark meat does need to get to 180° though. I had good luck on my first whole turkey by placing the legs toward the back. The two numbers both hit about at the same time. [p]I know some here might say that even 170° is too high, but that where the texture is right for me. I did one to a lower temp and it was too moist. It had a great taste, but didn't look are feel quite right. [p]Steve-B

• FatDog
    FatDog Posts: 164
    Options
    Steve-B,