Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Three butts in the books

2Fategghead
2Fategghead Posts: 9,624
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I found three 3 to 4 pound butts on reduced sale yesterday for $.89 per pound. Needless to say I run cold water over them and patted them dry and rubbed them up real real good. I got my egg stable at 250 degrees and smoked these little fellas.

I normally like to get the 7 to 10 plus pound butts at $2.00 plus a pound but, you see I like my money so I got the cheap ones because they were still good to cook.

100_3152.jpg

100_3153.jpg

100_3155.jpg

100_3156.jpg

We like to eat our butt in chunks unless we put in in bread then we shred it. Yes those are some home grown tomato's. Hope you like we did. :P Tim

100_3157.jpg

Comments

• danny285
    danny285 Posts: 360
    They look good, never saw any that small.
  • EggNorth
    EggNorth Posts: 1,535
    Looks great and home grown tomatoes are the best.

I noticed you don't eat the skins, I heard that this is the best part of a fruit or vegetable because it's the layer that it uses to protect itself so it stores most of the nutrients there - Read it on the web so it must be true. :)

Thanks for posting - Go Titans!
    Dave
    Cambridge, Ontario - Canada
    Large (2010), Mini Max (2015), Large garden pot (2018)
  • 2Fategghead
    Thanks Danny. The butts were small and the first time I ever smoked such small butts. Personally I like the 8 to 10 pound butts. Tim ;)
  • JLOCKHART29
    JLOCKHART29 Posts: 5,897