Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Frustrated grillin' with BGE

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
So I am a BGE newbie, but have smoked a few boston butts with great success. However, it is hit or miss grilling. Specifically, I am having trouble getting my BGE up to temp (500-600 degrees) for burgers or steaks. Sometimes it works, but usually not. I'm trying to cook burgers now and the darn thing won't get over 300 degrees. I did not clear out the charcoal, but did add some fresh. The old charcoal wasn't only used once. Also, I made sure the air holes weren't clogged and there is very little ash in the bottom. I use an electric starter and leave it in for about 15 mins. It has been at least 30 mins since I took the starter out and the temp is stuck around 275. Oh, the bottom vent is wide open and the top vent is uncovered. Ideas?

- Jason

Comments

• cookn biker
    cookn biker Posts: 13,407
    Options
    Do you have an ash tool? If not that's ok. Make one out of a hanger. Poke through the bottom vent up into the holes of that. That should help clear any smallpieces/ash and get the air flowing for you.
    Molly
    Colorado Springs
    "Loney Queen"
    "Respect your fellow human being, treat them fairly, disagree with them honestly, enjoy their friendship, explore your thoughts about one another candidly, work together for a common goal and help one another achieve it."
    Bill Bradley; American hall of fame basketball player, Rhodes scholar, former U.S. Senator from New Jersey
    LBGE, MBGE, SBGE , MiniBGE and a Mini Mini BGE
  • Little Chef