Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Newbie horrible steak cook

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hello all, as you see I'm a newbie, newbie with the egg, and newbie cook. I recently purchased an XL and have had phenomenal results with ribs, thanks to the late CWM. Also have mastered the burgers. However; last night I cooked some 26 ounce plus bone in prime grade ribeys that I've been wet aging for 2 weeks. The steaks looked great! 1 1/2 inches in thickness. I cooked them 3 minutes per side, and closed everything off for an additional 3 minutes, pulled them let them rest....ect. They were terrible. I experienced some pretty extreme flame ups will flipping the steaks which at the time thought was going to help acheive the searing I had hoped for. The finished result ended up with a charred smoke flavor that was overwhelming. It was just bad! The other mistake I may have made was adding soaked hickory chunks to the 650 degree fire. As I had read on the forum I let them burn off about 30 minutes prior to the cook. By doing so I sacraficed my gasket in the process. Any suggestion on where I went wrong. Thanks for the great support of this site.

Comments

• 61chev
    61chev Posts: 539
    Options
    I never soak my smokin wood even for long cooks actually the chips or chunks don't do that much on a short cook like steaks your bad taste probably came from the hickory chips more steaming than burning
  • Grillin & Chillin
    Options