Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Mosture in Egg

Options
Nitro
Nitro Posts: 70
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Newbie here.

I just opened my Egg after a couple days and found mosture on my Cast Iron grid. That's not good. It did rain the other day. I'm wondering how water got into the Egg. I did have the top vent shut. Is that not enough?

Is it normal to get mosture in the Egg, and is it possible to combat it other than a full cover?

Thanks

Comments

• Weekend Warrior
    Weekend Warrior Posts: 1,702
    Options
    Ceramic is porous. A cover will help. The egg will take on moisture if conditions are damp.
  • Nitro
    Options
    I was hoping to not use a cover. Also, my buddy who sells Eggs said I didn't need one. I guess my other option is to remove the CI grid when not in use.

This begs the question: does anyone feel the need for a cover? And what do y'all do with your CI grids when not in use?
  • BobS
    BobS Posts: 2,485
    Options
    What is odd is that you could even see the CI grate. Mine always has leftover lump in it.

If you do not have a cover, I would probably be sure that I used the ceramic cover when I shutdown the Egg and not worry about it.

I use a cover, but it is more about protecting the table than the Egg. Also, where I live it freezes and I do not want the lid to freeze to the base.
  • kricks
    kricks Posts: 244
    Options
    I don't trust the top vent for keeping water out. Besides that it can rust. Use the ceramic top. All that being said a little moisture really won't hurt. The egg is tough.
  • PhilsGrill