Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

crash and burn on 1st pizza attempt

Memphistide
Memphistide Posts: 207
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
WOW. I was a fairly experienced cook/smoker, far before I went ceramic. However, I have officially met my match. This crust was made from scratch by a local pizzeria and stretched to size. I brushed with olive oil and coated w/ shredded mozz cheese (simple first pizza). I turned the plate setter legs down, used the egg "feet" under my cornmeal dusted stone and cooked at 500-550 for 25 min.....WOW was this baby well done. Shockingly, the only presentable part was the bottom, which looked great. Anyone got some tips to help a man out? I figure I will start with a shorter cook time, but keeping the 500 deg....thoughts?

2ludmxe.jpg

Comments

• Definitely try again, egg pizzas are great. My pies have cooked at about your temps, same setup, in maybe 10 minutes. Fred's Music & BBQ has a video, he recommends checking on them every few minutes.
  • Exactly. I cook my pizzas at 550 using the setup you described, but for 8-10 minutes. I'm surprised there was anything left at all after 25.

-John
  • Little Steven
    Little Steven Posts: 28,817
    Memphistide,

My guess is that you didn't leave the platesetter and stone in long enough to completely heat through. That is a lot of mass that has to get to temp.

Steve

Steve 

Caledon, ON

• PhilsGrill
    PhilsGrill Posts: 2,256
    Wow, about 15 mins too long. Bubba Tim may even give you an award! :laugh:
  • tach18k
    tach18k Posts: 1,607