Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

question about cutting pork loin into baby backs

Options
big hound
big hound Posts: 103
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
There's a market in my area selling whole bone in pork loin for $1.49lb. They have baby backs at $4.99lb. I was wondering, couldn't I buy the pork loin and slice the bone off, cutting it pretty thick for some excellent meaty ribs, while use the rest of the loin for a roast or steaks. It seems like an enexpensive way to get some real thick baby backs and have some extra meat to use for something else. I'm no expert at porkloin so I thought I'd run this by you guys before I go out and buy a few loins.

Comments

• Little Chef
    Little Chef Posts: 4,725
    Options
    big hound. One problem you will encounter....when they butcher the loin as a bone in roast, they leave the chine bones and part of the spine bones. You can cut the ribs off the loin, but unless you have those additional bones cut off, you will never achieve what looks like a "rack" of babyback ribs. If you're friendly with your butcher, perhaps they will run the loin on their band saw for you.
    Great price though! Time to start researching the recipes on this site for loins. And absolutely, you can cut the loin into some thick bonesless chops for sure! About 2" thick is our preferance. And there is nothing wrong with a bone in loin roast....delicious!
    Have fun! :)
  • Capt Frank
    Capt Frank Posts: 2,578
    Options