Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Beef Shoulder CLOD

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
"CLOD" what I'm feeling right now. I've had my large BGE about a month now and I'm still learning "low and slow" with smoke. I thought I'd try a beef brisket, but all I saw in my local store was a 10 lb. Beef Shoulder CLOD. I thought brisket=shoulder, but now I see I am wrong. Should I cook it using the Beef Brisket recipe by Nature Boy in my BGE Operating Manual? Or is there another way? If it is going to cook for 10+ hours should I inject it with something? If so what? All help would be appreciated.

Comments

• lowercasebill
    lowercasebill Posts: 5,218
    Options
    unconundrum has done more clods than you can shake a fork at.. i will try to get you some help.
    bill
  • Lawn Ranger
    Lawn Ranger Posts: 5,467
    Options
    Clod is my favorite! I'm getting too old for the low and slow, and would bet some comp. guys would tell you they would never get to the judge's table if they did it that way.

(Never mind how I treated it beforehand) I start brisket or clod indirect with heavy smoke at about 200 - 225 for about two hours. Smoke is really absorbed in the first couple of hours. Then wrap and kick up to 300+ with polder in place until internal temp is about 185/190. Then unwrap, stoke the fire, and sear (like Trex) for 1-2 minutes on each side. Then re-wrap and let rest.

Probably totally unorthodox, but works for me. It's the way I like my brisket; fat and juicy. BTW, I never mess with flats...too dry, too quickly in my opinion.

Send me a pic.

Mike