Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Is it possible to get a crispy skin with the BGE???

Patrick in Minnesota
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Ok, here's another question I need help with...I've been cooking on my Egg for several years now, and I like everything about it EXCEPT that I can't seem to get a crispy skin on any foods I cook.(I generally cook with indirect heat, using a ceramic tile between the coals and my drip pan.) My chicken comes out a beautiful bronze color, and very moist inside, but the skin isn't crisp. Ditto for ribs. In the Jamisons' book, Smoke and Spice, they said that this is a characteristic of all kamado's, because they retain the moisture so well. Anyone have any ideas on this?...perhaps opening the dome for the last 15-20 minutes or so???

Comments

• sprinter
    sprinter Posts: 1,188
    Patrick in Minnesota,[p]What about cooking it direct for the last couple of minutes of the cook? This will get keep the moisture in the inner portion of the meat and crisp up the outside at the end of the cook. It works for me when I want a crispy outer bark on whatever I'm cooking.[p]Troy
  • BluesnBBQ
    BluesnBBQ Posts: 615
    When I roast chickens at a high temp, I get crispy skin. See my "Recent Chicken Experiments' post from last week for more on this.

• BluesnBBQ, Hmmmmm....higher temps, eh? My last chicken was cooked at approx. 360 degrees dome temp, but still the skin was not crispy...maybe it has something to do with the SIZE of the egg...I have a "medium" size.

• BluesnBBQ
    BluesnBBQ Posts: 615