Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New Egger - Temp Questions

Options
rogersab
rogersab Posts: 17
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hey guys -

So I'm new to the green egg and getting to my temps has been a bit of a chore.

Can someone walk me through a tried and true method for hitting a temp - say 350 - from lighting to a stable temp? I'm using the quick starters but when those are gone I'll be switching to a charcoal chimney.

What I'm doing now is getting the fire started (several coals lit) and closing the egg with both dampers wide open. Once I notice the temp start to climb, I'll close both slightly to keep from blowing past my target temperature - as it takes forever to drop. The temp will climb a bit more and finally stabilize (usually well below my target). Then it will start to actually decrease.

Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong? I eventually get it but it seems to be alot more work than most are having.

I've seen the guide with the damper settings, btw.

Andy

Comments

• Mazzdog
    Mazzdog Posts: 44
    Options
    You'll figure it out... you're on track.. took me 4 or 5 times to figure out how to hold the higher temps, but i did it.. lower temps i'm still messing with but it's coming along. I use an electric starter.
  • bobbyb
    bobbyb Posts: 1,349
    Options
    those fire starters make you think the fire is hotter than it is. Then when they go out, the temp drops because the charcoal hasn't lit as well as you think it has. I say get yourself a MAPP torch, No need to mess around with a chimney. The egg is a chimney.
  • Carolina Q