Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

new egg owner - couple of questions

Options
pearlbluevtx
pearlbluevtx Posts: 13
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hi- awesome to be part of the EGG group!!

wow. We've had our LG Egg for 3 weeks now and we've cooked more on this Egg than we've ever cooked on approximately 3-4 small-large gas grills that we've had over the last 15+ years! And, the results have been so much better.

Also, I'm a novice griller as well so I really have no idea what I'm doing on grilling or smoking food. We haven't even used the Egg to smoke anything yet - can't wait to try this though!

I do have a couple of questions --

1) using BGE charcoal (and some sort of gel that I use to light it), I'm not really understanding how I get my Egg to heat up in a 'normal' amount of time. Maybe I need to understand what 'normal' heat-up time is but for example, I just got my Egg to 425 degrees so we can cook pizza on the Egg .. (2nd time to do this - awesome!!) ... but it's taken me about 45-55 minutes to get my temp right. I got it going, temp up to 500-600 degrees, then brought it down with our ceramic pizza stone in there ... now it's down to around 425 & the plate is heated.

Is this right? Normal in my timing? I have no idea