Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

OT: Best Compact Cameras

Options
Bluecrab3
Bluecrab3 Posts: 328
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I would love to get an SLR or the like, but with a 4 year old and 6 year old, we need something small that we can take anywhere. Have been using a Canon SD870 IS and have enjoyed it for the last couple of years. The LCD is on the brink, so I'm going to purchase a new one. Looking for a recommendation. Thanks.

Comments

• Capt Frank
    Capt Frank Posts: 2,578
    Options
    I am no camera expert when it comes to comparing brands, but I have been using an Olympus "Stylus 770SW" for two or three years. I bought this model because it is waterproof to a depth of 30ft, and shock resistant. I am on and in the water a lot, and i have found this little camera to be very rugged and dependable. All pics I have posted on here I have done with it, as well as some good snorlkeling and fishing pics. B) It was about $300.

Capt Frank
    Homosassa, FL
  • Angela
    Angela Posts: 543
    Options
    http://www.amazon.com/Canon-PowerShot-SX210IS-Stabilized-Gold/dp/B0035FZJMQ/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1275148713&sr=8-3

This is the one I want, just haven't picked it up yet. 14MP and shoots HD 720p video.
    Egging on two larges + 36" Blackstone griddle
  • McPhreak
    McPhreak Posts: 42
    Options
    If you want a relatively compact camera with slr-like functionality, consider the canon G11 (or are they on G12 already?).
  • Doug in Eggmonton
    Options