Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Cherry Wood Question

Ozarkshooter
Ozarkshooter Posts: 65
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Newbie here. A while back, I trimmed an old cherry tree and an apple tree. I cut the largest diameter pieces into 2-3" chunks thinking I could use them for smoking.

Questions:
How long do I need to let them dry before using?

Do I need to trim the bark off, or can I smoke with the bark on?

Does it matter if the wood came from the limbs or trunk?

Thanks.

Comments

• Capt Frank
    Capt Frank Posts: 2,578
    Use it just like it is, wet or dry won't matter.
    Both are some of the best smoking woods you can get B)

Capt Frank
    Homosassa, FL
  • gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Some people swear by using fresh cut fruit woods, saying the sap makes for a sweet flavor. So I've got a couple chunks of pretty fresh peach that I should try soon. Certainly good and dry won't be a problem. Cut into chunks, I'd expect just a few months would make them quite dry, properly stored.

I check to see if there is any lichens or fungus on the bark. If so, I cut away the bark.

Trunk heart wood should be more dense than limbs, and will burn more slowly, which is a good thing.
  • lots of opinions....

i will say that i have heard folks swear that green wood is the best, while some say that seasoned is the only way to go.

i have heard that bark on is a no-no, just as i have seen plenty that leave it on. i actually sometimes smoke with the bark of the shagbark hickory all by itself. i don't think there's anything sweeter smelling.