Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Cooking brisket

Options
Jim Benenson
Jim Benenson Posts: 29
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I've been egging for two years and have received many compliments on my cooking, except for one area: brisket. I have been dissatisfied with every brisket I have tried and so has my fan club. The meat generally comes out too dry and is, in my opinion, overdone. I rub the meat heavily with spices, then cook it slowly (at about 230 -- indirect) for three to six hours, but it doesn't have that juicy flavor that good brisket has. So, here's your chance, boys and girls...[p]How do I make a brisket come out right? Or is it my karma?

Comments

• The Naked Whiz
    The Naked Whiz Posts: 7,777
    Options
    Zen Cooker #1,
    Well, a brisket needs to go far longer than 3-6 hours unless it only weighs a couple of pounds. (I did a 4.3 pound brisket last night that took about 14 hours. Of course, I have yet to cut into it and see what it is like. LOL!) Do you monitor the internal temperature when you cook it? What temperature do you cook the meat to? Have you observed the plateau that occurs around 160 degrees or so? Tell us more about how you do it.
    TNW

The Naked Whiz
  • Steve-B
    Steve-B Posts: 339
    Options
    Zen Cooker #1,