Got this when going to an archived article:
Warning: Visiting this site may harm your computer!
The website at www.eggheadforum.com appears to host malware – software that can hurt your computer or otherwise operate without your consent. Just visiting a site that hosts malware can infect your computer.
For detailed information about the problems with this site, visit the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page for www.eggheadforum.com.
Learn more about how to protect yourself from harmful software online.
0 •
Comments
[ul]http://safebrowsing.clients.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=http://www.eggheadforum.com/archives//2003/messages/90267.htm&client=googlechrome&hl=en-US[/ul]
Safe Browsing
Diagnostic page for eggheadforum.com/archives
What is the current listing status for eggheadforum.com/archives?
Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.
Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 2 time(s) over the past 90 days.
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 310 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 57 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2010-03-23, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2010-03-23.
Malicious software includes 3 trojan(s). Successful infection resulted in an average of 7 new process(es) on the target machine.
Malicious software is hosted on 14 domain(s), including mangasit.com/, statanalyze.cn/, thekapita.com/.
3 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site, including mangasit.com/, thekapita.com/, statanalyze.cn/.
This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS32244 (LIQUID).
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, eggheadforum.com/archives appeared to function as an intermediary for the infection of 2 site(s) including biggreenegg.com/, greeneggers.com/.
Has this site hosted malware?
Yes, this site has hosted malicious software over the past 90 days. It infected 2 domain(s), including biggreenegg.com/, greeneggers.com/.
How did this happen?
In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.
Next steps:
Return to the previous page.
If you are the owner of this web site, you can request a review of your site using Google Webmaster Tools. More information about the review process is available in Google's Webmaster Help Center.
Updated 16 hours ago
- Spam
- Abuse
- Troll
0 • Off Topic Disagree Agree Like- Spam
- Abuse
- Troll
0 • Off Topic Disagree Agree LikeThankfully, using a Mac has some advantages (at least for a little longer).
- Spam
- Abuse
- Troll
0 • Off Topic Disagree Agree Like- Spam
- Abuse
- Troll
0 • Off Topic Disagree Agree LikeThanks for the heads up. If this site needs to go 'pay-to-play' so be it; yet no amount of info is worth not knowing where one can go and where one can't. I hope your post above does some good.
- Spam
- Abuse
- Troll
0 • Off Topic Disagree Agree Like- Spam
- Abuse
- Troll
0 • Off Topic Disagree Agree Like- Spam
- Abuse
- Troll
0 • Off Topic Disagree Agree LikeThe "archives" directory is deprecated and has been removed. It is the old messages, in the old format, from the old forum.
It has not, or should not, have changed in years. We will investigate the malware "infestation" to see if I can determine when, and possibly how, it got there.
Depending on when the infestation occurred, there may also be malware in the database (i.e. in the new "archives" as well); so, we'll have to search the "new" archives also.
- Spam
- Abuse
- Troll
0 • Off Topic Disagree Agree LikeVirtually every one of the many thousands of archives files was infected with a malware "frame". I've removed the access to these files; and, they are being "scrubbed" and then will be backed-up and removed from the server to prevent further infection.
The database should not be affected; so, to visit the "archives", either search the forum, or, use the date controls at the top of the "classic" index.
- Spam
- Abuse
- Troll
0 • Off Topic Disagree Agree Like- Spam
- Abuse
- Troll
0 • Off Topic Disagree Agree LikeI've removed the files. You won't be able to access them, and neither will Google.
We will request that Google rescan our site ASAP.
- Spam
- Abuse
- Troll
0 • Off Topic Disagree Agree Like