Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoking Question....

Cali Fireman
Cali Fireman Posts: 38
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hey guys. Im new to the BGE and smoking in general. I smoked a tri tip the other day using one of the recipes posted here. Meat turned out great! Very nice smoke ring and the taste was very good. My question is this: I had to add some wood half way through the smoke. Kinda a pain. Is there a technique that would allow me to skip adding wood? I used chunks of mesquite. Should i soak the chunks in water? Add more initially? Any suggestions? Thanks! Cali Fireman

Comments

• One solution is to 'hide' chunks in the lump so that as the fire spreads out, it runs into chunks of smoking wood.
  • Hoss
    Hoss Posts: 14,600
    Use more and distribute it throughout the load of lump.Soaking will not help chunks.
  • DynaGreaseball
    DynaGreaseball Posts: 1,409
    I've never smoked beef, but I've found that smoking pork only requires a little smoke in the beginning. On a slow cook, and once the wood smolders and burns out, the pork doesn't need any more smoke, to me. I guess you could use chunks on top of your lump, so it burns first, then sprinkle chips down inside the lump so you'll continue to get more during the rest of the cook.