Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

1st Boston Butt a Semi- Bust

Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I studied up a bit on how to cook a boston butt in my new medium egg. This was my first time and I know I have much to learn, but I was a little disappointed and wanted to solict any thoughts on possible causal factors. A bit of context: I purchased a bonless (all that was available) pork shoulder at a nearby grocer that was 4.74 lbs.; followed Elder's instructions and rub; put it on at 9am with dome temp range generally between 225 and 250 sometime a bit lower and sometimes a bit higher; internal meat temp stuck at 160-170 range for a long time and it wasn't until 8:30 pm that I was hitting about 190 when I took it off. This was longer than I planned (roughly 11.5 hours vs. 9.5 hours using the 2hrs/lb guide I saw posted) so my family dinner didn't happen. Anyhow, the meat tast was great, but both my wife and I felt that it wasn't very moist and was actually the driest and toughest meat yet cooked on this great Q. Maybe the meat was lousy and tough, or maybe I should have gone with bone in, or maybe I screwed somethign else up. Not sure, but wanted to solict the experts thoughs as I'm scratching my head a bit over this.
Thanks.

Comments

• GrillMeister
    GrillMeister Posts: 1,608