Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

How to brine a turkey

Options
Roundman
Roundman Posts: 43
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hey All,[p]How do you brine a turkey from my earlier post this was a suggestion. I have never brined anything I'm new to cooking and I only cook on a BGE. Thank for any help. I plan to cook my turkey this weekend.[p]Roundman

Comments

• Smokin Joe
    Smokin Joe Posts: 441
    Options
    Roundman,
    Try this link. One of the nice folks who post here pointed me to it a while back. It is extremely helpful! A great option when cooking chicken or turkey. Joe

[ul][li]Brining 101 Link[/ul]
  • QBabe
    QBabe Posts: 2,275
    Options
    Roundman,[p]Here's what I did....[p]maple-brined-turkey.jpg[p]Maple Brined Turkey[p]For the Brine...[p]2 cups kosher salt
    6 cups hot water
    6 quarts cold water
    1 1/2 cups maple syrup
    1 medium onion, thinly sliced
    8-10 cloves garlic, peeled and crushed
    18 black peppercorns
    8 bay leaves
    6 strips lemon zest (about 1 1/2 inches x 1/2 inch)
    6 strips orange zest (about 1 1/2 inches x 1/2 inch)