Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Ribs Queston?

Leggo My Eggo
Leggo My Eggo Posts: 155
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I've seen mulitiple posts talking about cooking loin backs for 4 to 5 hours. I did some yesterday for that long and they were too overcooked. In fact they almost looked done after 2 hours of smoke at 275. Meat had pulled back a good bit and they were brown in color. I wrapped them in foil for an hour (which I've never done before) and when I pulled them from the foil the bark was black. Mind you it wasn't burnt but very dark. I put them back on unfoiled for 30 minutes then sauced for the last 25 minutes. I couldn't pick them up without them falling apart. Everything I read seems to indicate that the cooking process should take at least 4 hours but it seems like 3 would be tops for me. How does everyone cook ribs so long without overcooking them?

Comments

• Everything you need to know about cooking loin backs is right here.

Car Wash Mike's Rib Class
  • RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,880
    based on what you posted me thinks you need to calibrate your dome thermometer!
    Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.