Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Temperature

Big Jim
Big Jim Posts: 50
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Please help me, I have tried and can not get the temp above 500. Even then it takes about 15 min. I am new to the egg and may be doing something wrong. Also, should I get the temp up high before dropping the temp when smoking ie: high then bring it down??

Comments

• Smokin Joe
    Smokin Joe Posts: 441
    bigjim,
    With freshly loaded lump you should have no problem getting the egg up to 750* (or more) by keeping the bottom vent wide open and not using a cap or daisy wheel on the top. I have read that in humid environments (or if/when the lump has become wet) the egg can be tempermental when coming up to higher temps.
    Also, from gathering tips here, I try to not over shoot my desired cook temp because it takes longer for the egg to coll than it does coming up to temp. So when you get within 30-50* of your desired cook temp start adjusting the bottom vent and top vent. Others have said ( and I agree) that the bottom will get you into the desired temp range, but the daisy wheel really gets you dialed in on a specific temp.
    A while ago there was a post that outlined the temp range as it related to the size of the opening in the bottom vent. I' not sure who posted it - maybe someone can step up and help out here???
    Good Luck and enjoy you new found love!!! Joe

• Nature Boy
    Nature Boy Posts: 8,687
    bigjim,