Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Computer Control Temp

Options
last_option
last_option Posts: 12
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
OK, did a pork butt this weekend and when I woke up my temp was 300 and my pork was 212. Pork turn out dry.

Being an engineer I already have the beginnings of a temperature controller built. So, my question is do you think there is a market for another controller? I have some ideas that should make this controller better.

Ideas:
Thermapen type predictive temperature measurements - This will make the temp measurements very fast.

SD card with temp data for reference/analysis.

wireless built in (this would have to be on the high end since the wireless chips are still a little expensive). This would let you control the box thru a webpage with all those advantages (blah blah blah)

A 2X16 LCD display.

A quickstart mode (i.e. insert grill temp/food temp and go). You could also have preset temp profiles that you could just bring up for whatever you want to cook - burgers, tri tip, pork butt, brisket, and on and on. There would be some from the factory, but also user created. All would be able to be modified. You could also share temp profiles over the web thru websites like the BGE forum ;)

A time/temp mode with grill temp to food temp merge.

Anyway, if this sound like it is feasible or you have other ideas, let me know.

Comments

• Little Chef
    Little Chef Posts: 4,725
    Options