Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Dry Aging A Bone in Ribeye! pic heavy

Hoss's BBQ
Hoss's BBQ Posts: 435
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Well I have been doing research on dry aging for the past two months. I looked in to the bags yet decided to go the old fashioned way. After some advice from some chefs I know who dry age in their restaurants I went ahead and purchased a whole bonein Ribeye while it was on sale at Publix for $5.99 lb. I have a brand new maytag refrigerator that has digital controls for temperature and has a humidity control. I have been keeping the frdge at 35*f with a humidity level of 80%. I am on day 6 right now and think I will go to 21 days maybe 28. Here are some pics of the project so far.Hoss
BoneinRibeye005.jpg
BoneinRibeye007.jpg
day 1
BoneinRibeye012.jpg
day6
BoneinRibeye015.jpg

Comments

• drbbq
    drbbq Posts: 1,152
    What day are we eating it?
    Ray Lampe Dr. BBQ
  • man after my own heart.

how are you keeping the fridge at 80% humidity?
    if you can maintain the higher humidity, you can age a good bit longer than those like me who are stuck with a fairly dry fridge.

my fridge has drawers with different humidity settings, but too small to age a chunk like that. so i go commando in the downstairs spare fridge.

but being dry, i top out at about 28 days

if i had higher humidity, maybe as much as 7 weeks
  • Squeeze
    Squeeze Posts: 717
    Hey Ken....

Let me know when I need to head to Decatur for Dinner...I will bring some beer! Hope all is well with you!

-Kevin
    Kevin Jacques
    The University of Que L.L.C. ®