Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

having trouble with my low temp cook

Kitarkus
Kitarkus Posts: 181
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am embarrassed to tell you that I am not a newbie. This is my second egg....and I had hoped that the trouble with low temp cooking was with my VERY old medium egg. I now have a new large.

I am cooking a 6lb pork butt right now...Dizzy Pig Red Eye Express. I put big chunks of charcoal on the bottom iron grate...then placed charcoal atop up to the fire ring. I put ONE firestarter in the center and allowed the center to catch fire..smolder...then closed her up. The egg held steady at 150'ish...crept up to 200....then I started the cook. It has been on for 1.5 hours now...and I have crept up to almost 300 degrees. I shut it all down for about 5 minutes....opened the lid quickly to let heat escape....closed the petals to slightly more than 1/2 shut...and I have the vent open JUST A HAIR. I am getting ready to go out on a job for the next couple hours.....so I can't do much about it....but I am indeed frustrated with my inability to keep this thing at 250 degrees or less. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Kitarkus

Comments

• Your petals are open too far. For 250, I run my bottom vent just a hair open, and my petals nearly closed. It needs very very little air to maintain 250 dome. Search the forum for Grandpa's Grub's photo guide to temp control. Those photos should be for a large.
  • BigT
    BigT Posts: 385