Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

XL or LG for newbie????

stones
stones Posts: 61
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
well, here's my second post ever. I am getting great info from you guys , thanks.
It came up in my last thread, should i go for a XL or LG egg. I am a total newbie and it was suggested the XL is too much grill for me. Any thoughts???

Comments

• Crimsongator
    Crimsongator Posts: 5,797
    I answered your other post. If you can afford a XL and have the space go for it. I have both and have preferred the XL recently
  • Knauf
    Knauf Posts: 337
    I have heard the large has more accessories available and is more versatile than the XL. I have the large and can cook anything I need for a gang of people. If you can, go with large and Med for about the same price as XL and extreme versatility.
  • Crimsongator
    You could buy a large and small for the same price, but probably not the medium.
  • FlaPoolman
    FlaPoolman Posts: 11,676
    It's not that the XL is too much grill but I think most new shoppers don't realize just how much you can fit on the large in one cook. How many times will you need more than 6 butts? and there is one pic floating around of 20 racks or ribs on the large.
  • stones
    i really do get your point. But, besides for spending a few dollars more(really not that much more), is there a disadvantage of having the XL?
  • I broke in a large today. Cooked indirect with platesetter, raised grid and pizza stone. I can already see there are many options and lots of capacity. There are just two of us most of the time.