Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Tailgate ribs/2-day

Options
KSUSHAQ
KSUSHAQ Posts: 4
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Well I have to say I am new to the egghead forum but I am learning quickly on my new egg thanks to the advice of many on this forum. Lurker, but now officially a poster. I tried preparing ribs for the first time a few weeks ago but made some rookie mistakes. Too much rub.....didn't cook indirect (firebricks weren't in yet), and therefore results were so-so but much room for improvement.

Getting ready to head up for a college football tailgate weekend at Arrowhead for my beloved K-state Wildcats. I wanted to prepare some ribs but didn't want to take apart and load up the egg. My question is does anyone have a method to where I can smoke the ribs and finish cooking on regular gas grill at the tailgate. My thought would be to indirect cook for about 2 1/2 to 3 hours and then wrap in foil and cook for another 45min-1hours. Instead of the final cook that I would normally do, wait until the next day to warm those ribs up on a gas grill. Just looking for a good way to utilize the egg and its flavor but do it a day before eating.

Comments

• Car Wash Mike
    Car Wash Mike Posts: 11,244
    Options
    I would cook and finish like normal. Go ahead and slice. Reheat on gassy with ribs in covered pan with apple juice in the pan.
    Depending on my interview, it will determine if we tailgate or not.
    What are the odds?
    c6111859.jpg

Maybe we can hook up, where are you coming from?

Mike
  • Eggerman1
    Eggerman1 Posts: 155
    Options