Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Winter Lump

Options
Brokersmoker
Brokersmoker Posts: 646
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Being a rookie, I have no idea of how much lump to load in for the winter, heck, I am still on my eggnaugural bag that came with the package from Indy Egg Fest (don't br too hard on me 12 days of that were spent on a cruise ship in Alaska). Currently in reserve is 1 20lb bag of BGE, 5 10 lbs of Royal oak, 4 bags of Kingsford Charwood, and 3 bags of the local Kroger brand. Local grocer called and told me when they were marking down to 50% so I bought them out. If I run out can you still find it somewhere or should I take some more out of the local Walmart stock, they have about 1.5 pallets left.

Comments

• The Naked Whiz
    Options
    Well, it obviously depends on how frequently you will be using your Egg. Sounds like you have plenty, though. Wal*mart seems to stock in seasonally, but grocery stores seem to carry it more consistently through the year. You might ask Kroger if they know whether or not they will be getting it during the winter and if not, can they order it. Good luck!
    The Naked Whiz
  • Carolina Q
    Carolina Q Posts: 14,831
    Options
    I have similar concerns. Living in New England, it's often difficult to find what NE folks perceive as "warm weather" products in winter. Instant iced tea, for example... and charcoal.