Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Question about new egg

Options
RPA
RPA Posts: 2
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hello Eggheads! I'm new to the Egg Head Forum as I only got my Egg today! I'm plenty eggcited, but I'm kind of puzzled about part of my new Medium size egg. As I was assembling today, I was struck by how diameter of the fire ring was much smaller than the inside off the Egg and it got me wondering. Is this right? Shouldn't the ring just barely fit in there? I know it fits much tighter on the Large Egg they had in the showroom. On my Medium, there is more than 1/2 inch of space all around the fire ring and the wall of the Egg. I'm concerned that as it heats up, and the draft pulls the air in from the bottom vent... it seems like the air will take the path of least resistance and just go up the sides of the fire bowl and ring and maybe not feed the fire like it's supposed to?. On the Large it seemed to fit nearly tight and so all the air coming in would be for the fire. I just read on the Forum that some owners had trouble getting the Medium to reach high temperatures. Should I be concerned about this, or is it a non issue?? This puppy was not cheap and I want to make sure there's no problem BEFORE I fire it up and the dealer considers it "used". Thanks for hearing me out and I'd appreciate any response - even if it's "hey man you're crazy, start cooking" Thanks eggsperts!! :) RPA

Comments

• Boss Hogg
    Boss Hogg Posts: 1,377
    Options