Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Its Getting Turkey Time, How are you doing yours?

Options
haywyre
haywyre Posts: 165
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Well the time has come to decide on another recipe for the family turkey. Any good sugestions?

Comments

• mad max beyond eggdome
    Options
    haywyre,
    while i plan to do mine in the egg, i still plan on being fairly conventional. .. i've been doing the turkey for over 20 years now and i think i've got it pretty down pat, keeping in mind the two most important things. . .1. don't let the breast dry out and be crumbly, and 2. the gravy is key. . . keeping that in mind, here's what i do. . .[p]1. when i prep the turkey, i take the neck/giblets/heart/liver/and that big chunk of fat from the cavity, through it in a large stock pot on the stove with a garnish of herbs, a whole onion (peeled), and a stalk of celery, filled to the top with water, and let it simmer all day long making my own stock for the gravy. . .[p]2. i set the bird in a roasting pan direct (no v rack). . .sprinkle the cavity with kosher salt and pepper, stuff it with a big garnish of fresh herbs (rosemary/thyme/sage), a quartered onion, and a quartered apple. . .i take a couple of sticks of butter, mix it with more finely chopped herbs and set up a paste. . .[p]3. KEY POINT HERE. . . i have read many, many ways to insure that the breast gets done at the same time as thigh, but the one foolproof method i've found and swear by (i've done it now for almost 10 years), is to take a gallon zip lock bag full of ice and lay it accross the breasts for abo