Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Rib Texture

Options
mtcwell
mtcwell Posts: 8
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
All-
Please help. I am an AVID BGE cook and especially love ribs!! Here's my problem. I am in search of a certain consistency, texture of the actual rib meat. What I get now while moist, tender, and flavorful is an almost mushy meat consistency. For better visualization if you were to bite into the rib it would leave jagged edges instead of a rounded bite. I hope someone sees this and understands what I'm saying. I'm looking for more of a steak type texture I think.

I've had many times the rib I want. Most recently this past week at a rib joint in Destin FL. Anyway what can I do to get this rib texture? Usually I cook my ribs at about 225-250 for 3-4 hours. I usually use the rub du jour - nothing special. No marinating. Let the ribs come to room temp by setting them out for about an hour. Plate setter. No drip pan. Cherry and apple chips for smoke flavor. I am open to speaking over the phone if anyone is feeling benevolent. Thanks in advance.
Terry

Comments

• Richard Fl
    Richard Fl Posts: 8,297
    Options
    Did 4 St Louis slabs last saturday after trimming the brisket portion. Did on large at 275-300F first 3 hours and then dropped to 250F- and basted with my favorite BBQ sauce mixed with equal parts water/apple juice. These were done on a large indirect with a pan of water 1 inch deep to catch the dripping on a plate setter with 1/2 copper elbows to raise the pan. After 6 1/2 hours they were great.

ribscooking-1.jpg