Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Rub/Sauce Question

Options
satkinson
satkinson Posts: 36
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I've been egging for about five years and I consider myself a good rib cooker (less luck with briskets). I have a question that's been puzzling me though.

Most rib directions suggest not putting any basting sauce on the ribs until the last 15 minutes or so to prevent over-caramelization of the sugars and the subsequent burnt taste. However, almost all rubs I have used and come up with have sugar in them. Is there a contradiction here? Is it because you go from indirect to direct heat (at least I do). Does anyone on the forum advocate sugar-free rubs?

Comments

• Richard Fl
    Richard Fl Posts: 8,297
    Options
    This is one a friend of mine gave me many years ago. It is his restaurant rub after 20+ years.

Rub, Jimmy Joe

INGREDIENTS:
    10 Ozs Red Pepper Flakes, Fine Ground
    3 Ozs. Salt, Fine
    3 Ozs. Black Pepper, Fine

1 Procedure:
    2 Mix all together.

Recipe Type
    Rub/Seasoning/Spice

Recipe Source
    Source: Jimmy Joe's BBQ, Jimmy Brooks, 2007/02/02
  • satkinson
    Options
    Richard,
    Thanks. That sounds like a hella-hot rub! I'll try a bit on a spare rib and see if my hair catches on fire before I risk a whole rack. I'm a fan of paprika as the "reddening" agent, but I'll give it a shot.
  • Celtic Wolf
    Celtic Wolf Posts: 9,773
    Options
    I don't see a contradiction here.

If you put any BBQ sauce on your ribs prior to the last 15-20 minutes you risk burning the sugars in the sauce.
  • satkinson