Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Help with fire starting

Options
Husker95
Husker95 Posts: 20
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hello. I'm a newbie and need a little advice on best practices for starting a fire in my large BGE. I am usually cooking direct (burgers, chicken, brats). When i get ready to start, i open both the top and bottom drafts wide open, clean out the ash and use the ash tool to stir the charcoal to try to get as much ash as possible to fall through to the bottom. I then bury the electric starter under a couple inches of charcoal in the center of the egg. It starts ok and i remove it after about 10 minutes. But then it often takes up to 30 minutes for the egg to come to 350 or higher. It seems to hang out at 200 degrees forever. Any suggestions you vets can give me are much appreciated. Thanks.

Husker

Comments

• Dave Shady
    Dave Shady Posts: 247
    Options
    I do it the same way. no problems

MAKE SURE

After you remove the starter let it sit OPEN lid
    and open bottom draft for another 5-10 minutes.

You can then close and you should be roaring and
    on the way to 450-500 in no time. also make sure
    that your ports in the ceramic fire bowl arent pluged with lil lump or ash.
  • WessB
    WessB Posts: 6,937
    Options
    30 minutes for 350° sounds perfectly normal...just keep on doing what you're doing...If your in a big hurry some type of fanning device will speed things up.
  • johann
    johann Posts: 111
    Options