Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First Butt Smoke

Smoked-Moon
Smoked-Moon Posts: 20
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hey -

I'm a total rookie w/ my new egg and I'm spooling up for my first pork butt tomorrow for a Sunday lunch brew-ha-ha. :woohoo:

I have a BGE/pork mentor on speed dial and have done several grilling adventures with my egg.

If you could offer 1 piece of advise..... what do you got? ONE thought please, I will need to focus on my task (and rocks glass) in hand.

Smoked in Big Sky MT

Comments

• fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,657
    250 degrees
    fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • FlaPoolman
    FlaPoolman Posts: 11,676
    Trust the egg. NO PEEKING
  • mojo
    mojo Posts: 220
    I did my first butt last weekend. From one newbie to another - it turned out AWESOME! My one piece of advice would be to make sure you put enough coals in the egg. I cooked a 10.5 pounder at 200-250* for 20 hours. The fire went out after 15 hr as I didn't insert enough coals to begin with. You didn't mention how big your butt is (haha) but if you plan on a really long cook, you'll want to fill the fire box all the way to the top, and maybe even fill the fire ring half way.
  • FlaPoolman
    FlaPoolman Posts: 11,676
    fill to within 1" of the top of the fire ring
  • Don't open the lid until it's done and make sure you have enuogh lump.
  • TXTriker
    TXTriker Posts: 1,177
    I cook to 195-200 internal before resting in foil with beef broth in the ice chest.