Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Tonite's dinner?

Options
RLA
RLA Posts: 89
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Ok...Im leaving the office right now. Im going to stop at Costco and pick up 2 thick New YOrk steaks, and 2 fresh chicken fryers.
They are going to be for dinner tonite. Since I wont have time to marinade or rub..(or do I?) what is the best way to prepare?
And remember...this is my first attempt at "anything" on the Egg.
Just askin for advice here........
Bob

Comments

• Char-Woody
    Char-Woody Posts: 2,642
    Options
    RLA, go for the steaks..Slather in mustard add your rubs and grill anywhere from 600 to 750 degrees. 2 minutes per side and close up the BGE ..Wait 6 more minutes for a nice medium rare steak. Brine the birds for tomorrows cook.
    C~W[p]

• Dr. Chicken
    Dr. Chicken Posts: 620
    Options
    RLA,
    I hate to ask this, but are the steaks & chicken both for tonight?[p]If you look at just the steaks, fire up the Egg to about 550 to 600 degrees. (You could go to 700 to 750 degrees) Soak some wood chips or chunks in water while you get everything ready.(The Egg and the Steaks) Rinse the steaks and trim off any excess fat.(that's your choice, 'cause I like to leave it on for the cook and my wife wants it taken off!) Take a couple of tablespoons of olive oil and rub the steaks thoroughly. If you've got it, rub some Montreal Steak Seasoning or Lowery's all over the steak. (No extra salt at this time!) Also, if you have some prepared crushed garlic, rub it on too.