Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

first time egg user

Options
Wisconsinegghead
Wisconsinegghead Posts: 77
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Just picked up the egg today. I grilled burgers on it tonight. TASTY and JUICY!

Saturday I am going to be taking it for its first real spin. What should I smoke first? I am experienced in smoking, but this is my first time with an egg. Any suggestions would be very much appreciated! I am excited to get going!

I have a 15 pound pork shoulder in the freezer, would that be a good thing to start with? I also have a beef rib roast and a pork loin. What is a good one to start with?

Thanks!

Chris

Comments

• MilitantSquatter
    Options
    I think all your options are good... just depends on how much time you have to allocate and pay attention to how the BGE operates to get a better comfort level with the airflow and vents.

If the pork loin is big, I'd cut it in half and start with that and then progress to the biggest cuts or longer cooks.
  • Semolina Pilchard
    Options
    Temps are a little tricky to get a handle on at first. If you want a dome temp of about 250, once your egg gets near 250 I suggest you have the bottom vent open about the thickness of a credit card and the holes in the daisy wheel (the petals) open about 1/3. You may want to have the egg locked into the temp you want quite a while before putting the food on so you won't be chasing temps all night. It won't take you long before you will master temp control. Happy egging.
  • stan
    stan Posts: 51
    Options