Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

I've got GAS

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Gear Acquisition Syndrome. I'm a newbie and was thinking of buying a plate setter. Are they really that useful? I already have a V-rack and a drip pan. Is this all I really need? I don't anticipate cooking pizza anytime soon....can't have carbs :( .....Atkins[p]I was thinking of cooking a Boston butt this weekend. Any suggesitons of set up?[p]Thanks for y'alls help

Comments

• The Naked Whiz
    The Naked Whiz Posts: 7,777
    Options
    Brad,
    Well, if you truly have GAS, then you will get the plate setter, even if you will never use it! You may be expected to cook pizza for others, though. And it is quite useful as a ceramic barrier for indirect cooks if you don't have fire bricks or some other setup.[p]TNW

The Naked Whiz
  • Shelby
    Shelby Posts: 803
    Options
    Brad,
    Like TNW says, if you've got GAS, then you need to get a plate setter. Probably a pizza stone too.
    The plate setter makes it even easier to do indirect cooks than firebricks.
    What else are you thinking you 'need'?

• Unknown
    Options
    The Naked Whiz,
    What do "fire Bricks" do?

• Spring Chicken
    Spring Chicken Posts: 10,255
    Options
    Brad,