Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

gasket cooked with burgers >:(

Options
scorf
scorf Posts: 2
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm a newbie, just finished my fourth cook with the egg. I thought I was starting to get the hang of it when I noticed heavy smoke (burgers) and a smell of plastic. Turns out my gasket had partially fallen into the oven area and was smoking my burgers. (FWIW felt/glue is not a very good smoke flavor.)

I did a search and found many discussion on replacing the gasket with better material or better adhesive, etc.

Is this true??? I just bought the egg last week, and now I have to research, purchase, and spend a hours scraping and installing a better gasket? (or at least another one). (So much for the family BBQ party I promised this weekend.)

What did I do wrong or is this common. Seems strange to me.

Comments

• Grandpas Grub
    Grandpas Grub Posts: 14,226
    Options
    This is all very simple.

First call your dealer and ask for help. Also, call BGE HQ explain the problem and they will help you out.

Sorry to hear you have a problem but it does happen but you will be taken care of.

If at all possible you want a Nomex Gasket without adhesive. You will need to get some 3M Super 77 adhesive

GG
  • Frank from Houma
    Options
    GG gives good advice. Meanwhile, you can take the burned gasket off and continue cooking. Might be difficult to go low but grilling will be fine.