Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Need some immediate help

Options
soonerburrage
soonerburrage Posts: 39
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Okay, so as I stated earlier I am cooking a whole chicken on the BGE.

I get the temperature set to 400 degrees then put on plate setter grill and chicken.

Now it won't get over 250 as the temp is falling!

What have I done wrong and what can I do to increase the heat.

All vents are wide open!

Comments

• Willus
    Willus Posts: 14
    Options
    I am new to owning a BGE and I had a similar problem. I then learned that I not only have to have the vents open, but I also need to clean the holes on the grate that the charcoal sits on each time I cook.

Otherwise, air cannot get through.

I hope this helps.
  • "Sparky"
    "Sparky" Posts: 6,024
    Options
    You should have warmed up the platesetter with the egg.It'll warm back up,don't worry ;)
  • Fidel
    Fidel Posts: 10,172
    Options
    You need to get your temps stable with everything but the food in.

Don't get your temp where you want it and then add the platesetter. This will both add cold mass and restrict air flow.

Open the vents until it gets where you want it.
  • Kevin_in_Tyrone
    Options
    Patience!

You just dumped 15 lbs of cold mass into the egg. How long did you let the temperature stabilize at 400 degrees? Was that the initial reading from the flame of your fire starter, or did you wait until the thermal mass of the egg got up to temperature?