Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Prime Rib Questions

Options
Boss Hogg
Boss Hogg Posts: 1,377
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am thinking about making a standing rib roast for New Years Eve dinner. I've never made one before and after clicking around the forum and linking to a bunch of other websites I've found a bunch of conflicting information. Since I'm pretty new at this whole cooking thing, I'm looking for something easy and pretty fool-proof (with my cooking skills that may be a challange :laugh: ).Here are some questions-
1. I'm having 8 people for dinner. How big a roast or how much pre-cooked weight(or do I order it by the number of ribs)?
2.What grill temp? I saw temps ranging from 225 up to 350 for the cook.
3. Sear first or at the end?
4. Can I use something like Raising The Steaks or Cowlick Rub or should I just use salt and pepper?
5.Should I put something on the roast to make the seasoning stick? ie olive oil, or mustard?
Thanks for all your help.
Brian in Wernersville, PA

Comments

• thirdeye
    thirdeye Posts: 7,428
    Options
    The one question that is easy to answer is the first one. Most everyone will agree that 2 people per rib works good, of course you never want to run short so a 5 rib one should be fine.