Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Fresh Ham

Options
Charlie
Charlie Posts: 29
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Have 9.2 fresh picknic ham, just put into brine yesterday. I want to serve at 6 pm monday. I have med. egg, oak& apple chunks are soaking.If I at 5am and cook at 225 will the ham be about 190deg at 530 pm. I am new at this and any sugestions would be very helpfull.

Comments

• Charlie, If you are cooking at a grate temperature of 225ºF and are shooting for an internal temperature of 190ºF, you should figure at least two hours per pound and add at least another hour to that cooking time. This is the safe side for getting it done. The picnic might be done before then and if it is, you can wrap the meat in foil, place it in a dry cooler with some towels. This will keep the meat over the 140º danger zone temperature for at least four hours, providing you keep the cooler closed. So if I were you and wanted to eat that nine pound roast at 6:00 p.m. tomorrow evening, I would put it on the fire tonight by 11:00 p.m..[p]Lager,[p]JDB
  • Charlie
    Options
    JDB,
    Thank you for your help. It sound like with ham or any other type of meat, it takes 1 1/2 to to 2 hours per pound at 200 to 225 deg. does this sound correct?