Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

How to stuff a pork loin???

BHE1
BHE1 Posts: 205
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am sure there is a simple way to do this, but how do you stuff a pork loin? I know you can just butterfly it once and place the stuffing in, however, I'm looking to flatten it out and roll my stuffing in. What is the easiest way to do this??

This seems like a silly question but I've never done this before.

Thanks for your help.

Comments

• I haven't done this with a pork loin, but have done it with a pork tenderloin. Think about the letter "G". You make a cut, about 1/2 inch deep, along the tenderloin and then continue running your knife in that cut to keep peeling off a half inch filet. I said "G" because that's what the cross section of my tenderloin would look like if I rolled it up again. For a true loin roast, you could make the cut a little thicker. I also pound out the meat before stuffing and rerolling.
    Hope that helps.

Paul
  • irishrog
    irishrog Posts: 375
    the alternative way to stuff the loin is to make a hole down the middle of the eye with the handle of a wooden spoon or some other round implement. Then push apricots, prunes or whatever stuffing you like down the middle of the loin. The fruit keeps the loin very moist, and it cannot burst out through the side of the joint.
  • BHE1
    BHE1 Posts: 205
    Thanks Paul.

Also, I meant to say tenderloin.

Ed
  • RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,887
    I prefer to "jelly roll" cut it with a long sharp fillet knife so I get a continuous piece like this:
    IMG_0551.jpg