Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Turducken

Options
crghc98
crghc98 Posts: 1,006
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Anyone ever do one in the egg. I've done one the past couple of years for a xmas party and its been a hit. This is my first year with the egg and I was thinking of smoking it.

I'm thinking cooking time wouldn't be much different as it is usually done at a low temp.

Any thoughts or advice? I will probably make Mad Max's gravy to go with it.

Comments

• mad max beyond eggdome
    Options
    shoot, i did one last year. ..if i can find the post i'll put it up here. ...and i did gravy for it that was spectacular!!. .. made the stock with both the turkey parts AND the duck carcass. ..made for the best stock and resultant gravy we've ever had. ..in fact, for this year's thanksgiving turkey, i may just buy a duck and throw it in the stock pot just for the purpose of improving the gravy!!!. . .

now, to see if i can find that post from the archives!!
  • mad max beyond eggdome
    Options
    i found it. ....

http://www.eggheadforum.com/index.php?option=com_simpleboard&func=view&id=395871&catid=1

and as i recall, 300 degrees dome temp worked really well to get the heat all the way to the center without drying out the turkey breast meat (and i also did the icebags on the breasts for 30 minutes ala the mad max turkey!!) ....
  • crghc98
    crghc98 Posts: 1,006
    Options
    Thanks! Great post. I'll go down the path with the stock as you are right, even in the oven I think the drippings are just all fat and not good enough for anything but a fatty gravy.