Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Firebox Material

Options
CR
CR Posts: 175
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Okay maybe this is a dumb question but. why does the firebox have to be made of a ceramic material that seems to suseptable to cracking? What if it was cast iron? I'm not a materials expert so maybe iron would not withstand the temps seen in the firebox. What if they made a ceramic firebox in say, three pieces instead of one.[p]These solutions have probably been considered already so could anyone enlighten me?[p]Thanks, CR

Comments

• Tim M
    Tim M Posts: 2,410
    Options
    CR,[p]Cast iron would really expand and be prone to sagging if you got some really high temps in there. It would also transfer much more heat to the outer shell and subject it to the forces of expansion that crack the firebox. A cast iron firebox would be harder to build and heavier too.[p]A three or four piece firebox is a good idea -- just design one that stays together and you could make a lot of money. It isn't an easy design.[p]Tim
  • CR
    Options
    Tim M, well, I guess that, as Rosseana Rosanadanna used to say on Saturday Night Live, "...just goes to show ya--It's always something."

• Strmn2Smoke
    Options
    Tim M,
    Why not just cut the present boxes in thirds, add three stainless clips to hold them in position and be done with it?..(Suppose you can tell I am not an engineer)

• Strmn2Smoke
    Options
    CR,[p]Nice to see someone thinking "outside" the box..NDE

• CR
    Options