Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Maintaining a steady egg temp

Options
MW
MW Posts: 61
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Obviously, its all in how one builds the fire. I have tried to follow Elder Ward's explicit and detailed instructions on Bosto Butt BBQ which covers fire prep, drinking etc. However, I started the Butt at 6 am and have not reaaly been able to leave the egg. Its was either too low and almost went out or I am fighting 250+ temps. I am fairly new at this and can normally control the temp well (large Egg using BGE lump) I cleaned it out very well in preparation.[p]Any tips? fire building is the key I guess, but amount of wood and other tricks to keep it at 200 for 12 or more hours is a trick I would like to master. Not quite ready to set it at midnight and go to bed. I am using a polder so the internal temp is well monitiored.[p]Love you all I could not have come this far with out you!!!!![p]////

Comments

• Gfw
    Gfw Posts: 1,598
    Options
    MW, Questions - Are you cooking indirect? Are you using firebricks? Do you have a cap for the top?[p]I have found that the firebricks really help stabilize the temp when cooking at less than the 250 degreee dome temp. I have had my medium run for 20 hours on one load of lump.[p]

[ul][li]Firebricks for Low & Slow![/ul]
  • MW
    MW Posts: 61
    Options
    Gfw, thank you for your rapid response... mmm you should smell this thing as it cooks!!!