Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My first egg-at Eggtoberfest?

Options
Charleston Dave
Charleston Dave Posts: 571
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
After weeks of lurking, I've signed up and am dipping a toe into the forum here with my first post (be gentle everyone, this is my first time!).

I'm an experienced home indoor cook and gasser (why is it that those "lifetime" gas grills don't last? are they referring to the "lifetime" of a small animal?) and am looking forward to acquiring my first BGE. Although I'm usually cooking for just two, I am leaning toward getting the large egg for flexibility and wide choice of accessories, although y'all might talk me down to a medium. Here's my question:

Local dealers around my hometown are asking around $750 for a large egg. More or less mandatory startup accessories (a nest, mates, platesetter, gripper, etc.) would add another $150-200, plus the guv's 7%. The closest dealer is offering $50 of accessories free if I order before Labor Day. I should note that the closest dealer seems friendly enough but nowhere near as well-informed as the Eggers here on the forum.

I'd like to attend Eggtoberfest for the experience, the education, and heck, the food! Plus, the savings if I wait and buy my first Egg then are enough that they'd pay for the trip, including hotel and travel. Can anyone comment on the pros and cons of waiting to buy at Eggtoberfest?

Reasons to buy immediately, and not wait for Eggtoberfest:
(1) Get started cooking right away! :cheer:
(2) Provide stronger support for the local dealer.