Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Help Advice - I'm new to this

Doug
Doug Posts: 132
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I live in Connecticut and have had many propane and charcoal grills over the years. I was convinced I had to try smoking but could never find a traditional smoker grill to check out (you know with the off set fire box etc).[p]Now I've stumbled across the "Big Green Egg" and I'm confused. I know everyone on this site is an avid BGE fan but could you tell me some of your thoughts on BGE vs Texas type smokers (off set fire box etc)[p]1) I like the size (Never more than 10 people)
2) Can you use water ?
3) How does true BBQ (ribs, butts, etc) taste vs Texas smokers
4) Can you use logs only vs charcoal ?
5) Are there any must options for the large BGE ?[p]I apologize but I'm very interested in buying once and I'm obviously searching for advice, any and all is appreciated.[p]Thanks, [p]Doug[p]

Comments

• bigmikej
    bigmikej Posts: 216
    doug,[p]1) I like the size (Never more than 10 people) - You can cook for more than ten, but it is not really suited for catering.
    2) Can you use water ? - You can but you don't need it. The ceramic design holds in moisture, unlike metal smokers.
    3) How does true BBQ (ribs, butts, etc) taste vs Texas smokers? - I have eaten BBQ all around the south and the BBQ I have cooked on the BGE is better than any i have ever had. I do not think you will be disappointed here.
    4) Can you use logs only vs charcoal ? - Natural lump charcoal is the prefered fuel w/ wood chunks or chips added for smoke.