Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

1st brisket (4.8 lb beef brisket flat) questions.

deepsouth
deepsouth Posts: 1,796
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
searched the forum and maybe i'm dumb, but i couldn't find the info i was looking for.....

looked like sam's club had been raided and all they had were a couple of these, so i grabbed one. not a single pork butt in the whole store.....

i have no experience with a brisket on an egg.... it's not real thick and it's not real big and i have no clue what to do with it. it's meaty on one side and has a fat cap (i guess that's what it's called) on the other side.

would love some help with seasonings and cook time. i'm assuming i cook indirect with the fat cap facing the top of the egg.

this is where i get dumber.....

thanks in advance.

prost.

Comments

• Slotmercenary
    Slotmercenary Posts: 1,071
    greetings,
    small flats are not a mystery. the way i do them is fat down, indirect, 250 grate temp, whatever spices you like. try your first one with just salt and pepper. with a flat i usually put a layer of bacon on to keep it moist. 1.5 to 2hrs per lb. don't be frustrated if your first one doesn't turn out perfect. i cook mine until internal of 195-200 then foil and place in the warn playmate for the rest period.
    DSC_9753.jpg
    DSC_9756.jpg
    DSC_9758.jpg
  • Jupiter Jim
    Jupiter Jim Posts: 3,351